Voter Registration in Delaware
What do I need to know?
- You must be registered to vote in General, Primary and Special Elections.
- You do not have to be registered to vote in school elections.
- You can pick a political party affiliation when you register.
- If you do not choose a political party, you will be registered as ‘no party’.
- You must register as a Democrat or Republican to vote in a primary. Democrats vote for Democrats and Republicans for Republicans.
- Changes of address with the Post Office do not update your voter registration.
- You must vote at the polling place for the address for your home on Election Day.
How do I register to vote or update my record?
At certain government offices
- At your county's Department of Elections during normal business hours.
- At Division of Motor Vehicle offices when applying for, renewing or updating a Driver's License or State ID Card.
- At State Service Centers (Department of Health and Social Services) when applying for services.
- At the Department of Labor: Division of Training and the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation.
- At WIC Program offices when applying for services or assistance.
- At Armed Forces Recruitment Offices when applying for services.
- At some Social Security offices.
- At the State Election Commissioner's Office.
- At institutions of higher education when you register for classes.
What are the qualifications?
- You must be a citizen of the United States.
- You must be a resident of Delaware. Delaware is your home.
- You must be 18 years old by the date of the next General Election.
- A person convicted of a felony may register and vote if he/she meets the conditions below:
- Has completed his/her sentence and
- Was not convicted of a disqualifying felony as stated in the State's Constitution. These felonies are:
- Murder or manslaughter, (except vehicular homicide);
- Any felony constituting an offense against public administration involving bribery or improper influence or abuse of office, or any like offense under the laws of any state or local jurisdiction, or of the United States, or of the District of Columbia; or
- Any felony constituting a sexual offense, or any like offense under the laws of any state
or local jurisdiction or of the United States or of the District of Columbia.
When can I register to vote?
- Any time, except after the fourth Saturday before a Primary, or General Election, through the day of the election.
- At least 10 days before a Special Election.
When can I update my record?
- Any time before an election.
- At your polling place on Election Day.
When can I change my political party affiliation?
- Before a Primary Election: any time except from the last Saturday in May through the date of the Primary.
- Before a Presidential Primary: any time except from the 59th day before the Presidential Primary through the date of the election.
- Before a General Election: any time except from the 4th Sunday before a General Election through the day of the election; and
- Before a Special Election: any time except from the 9th day before a Special Election through the day of the election.
When are the deadlines?
What are my responsibilities?
- To register to vote before the deadline.
- To update your voter registration.
- To change your political party affiliation before the deadline.
How do I cancel my voter registration?
How do I cancel a close relative's voter registration?
- Complete this form and send it to your county's Department of Elections.
- If the person moved out of state, write the Department stating the reason, the person's name, address, and date of birth as well as your relationship to the person.
- If the person died in Delaware, call or write the Department and give the person's name, address, date of birth, and date of death as well as your relationship to the person.
- If the person died in another state or overseas, write the Department and give the person's name, address, date of birth, and date of death as well as your relationship to the